Dasa Bhukti is a part of astrology where the combination of planets tells if you have a dasha or Mahadasha in your chart. The Sun, Moon, Mercury, Venus, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Rahu, and Ketu, all these planets and their position determine many things.

These calculations begin by knowing the person’s date, time, and place of birth. Accordingly, the astrologer prepares the birth chart and analyses it to see if any dasha is present.

There are many mahadashas that run for a specific time of years:

  • Sun 6 years
  • Moon 10 years
  • Mercury 17 years
  • Venus 20 years
  • Mars 7 years
  • Jupiter 16 years
  • Saturn 19 years
  • Rahu (north node) 18 years
  • Ketu (south node) 7 years

Dasa Bhukti

Dasa Bhukti means the position of the planets and their transitions that determine if the effects will be good or bad. The position of planets is helpful to analyze if the dasha will benefit the native or will be adverse. Since this is a part of astrology, only an astrologer can let you know about the dashas in your birth chart.

Mahadashas are the bigger face of dashas, and hence they are more important. They have the capability to affect your life big time, and every planet creates a Mahadasha of a different time period. Depending on the effects, these mahadashas can either take you to the height of success or become the reason for a major downfall.

In every person’s life, these dashas and mahadashas happen. However, it is not necessary that these dashas will be positive every time. It is believed that all this depends on the destiny and karma of the native. Those who have gathered good karma get blessed with a positive birth chart. Those who have collected bad karma mostly contain adverse planetary placements and suffer in life.

dasa bhukti


Mahadashas have nine parts, and these nine parts are called antardashas. When a planet has the influence of its Mahadasha, all nine planets also come to play and affect the individual to some extent. It depends on the Mahadasha if these effects are positive or negative. For example, Mercury Mahadasha goes on for 17 years; in this Mahadasha, all other nine planets will also play their part and influence the person’s life.

Dasa Bhukti Calculations

There are online calculators by which you can get to know about the possible dashas and their periods. You also find out if the period will be a good one. You need to enter your birth details, and as per your Rashi, houses, and planets in those houses, it will bring you results.

The results depend on the strength of the planet, its position, its surrounding by other planets, etc. The astrologer hence inspects all these factors to know the strength of the effects. He calculates the planet’s characteristics, its dignity in the sign, whether it is exalted or retrograde, and more.

If we compare bhukti, dasha, and Mahadasha with a clock, then we can say that Mahdasha is the large hour hand of a clock. Bhukti and Dasha are the two other hands of the clock.

Dasha system is prepared for 120 years of lifespan. Astrologers use the Vimshottari Dasha method as it is the most accurate one.

Types of Dashas in Astrology

There are many dashas in astrology, and the most important one is Vimshottari Dasha. Vimshottari dasha remains for 120 years, Ashtotri dasha is for 108 years, and Yogini remains for 36 years.

Vimshottari Dasha

In this one, Moon is considered important, and the Nakshatra in which the Moon is situated at the time of birth. A person born in Kritika, Poorvashadha, or Poorva Phalguni Nakshatra has the Sun as the lord of these nakshatras. This means that the person will have the Mahadasha at birth.

Yogini Dasha

Yogini is important as it remains for 36 years. To calculate this dasha, the astrologer uses the position of all 27 nakshatras and calculates the positive and negative results.

Many Yogini dashas, such as Mangala, Pingala, Dhanya, Bhramari, Bhadrika, Ulka, Siddha, and Sankata. Let’s know these dashas a bit more.

Mangala Yogini Dasha

Mangala remains for one year, and Moon remains the ruling planet. During this dasha, the person is bestowed with all happiness, success, and prosperity. This dasha is positive in most cases.

Pingala Yogini Dasha

Sun is the ruling planet of this dasha, and the dasha remains for 2 years. When this dasha happens, the person gets free from all troubles and lives his life in wealth and complete satisfaction.

Dhanya Yogini Dasha

This one remains for 3 years and is ruled by Jupiter. This is also an auspicious time during which the native receives wealth and gains.

Bhramari Yogini Dasha

Bhramari Yogini Dasha remains for 4 years, and Mars I the ruling planet. The dasha doesn’t come positive as other dashas here. It makes the native feel irritated, and he gets angry easily. He might also face many troubles and become lost in confusion; finances get affected too.